Board of Trustees | World Obesity Federation

Board of Trustees

The Charity’s current Board of Trustees (formerly, the Executive Committee) is comprised of 13 members who are jointly responsible for the strategic direction and policies of the charity as delegated by the General Council. The Board of Trustees normally meets four times each year. The current membership is shown in the table below.​

The members of the Board of Trustees are also trustees of the charity for the purpose of charity law, and are directors of the limited company. Under the Articles of Association, the President and President-Elect are elected by the General Council and serve for a term of two years in each position. The Treasurer and the Secretary are elected by the General Council to serve for a maximum period of two terms, each four years in duration. The Vice-Presidents for each region are elected by their respective regional bodies. Chairs of committees are members of the Board of Trustees ex officio.

President Prof. Louise Baur

Dr Simón Barquera

Past President

Prof. John Wilding

Treasurer Prof. Caroline Apovian
Vice President Latin America (FLASO)

Dr Bruno Halpern

President Asia Oceania (AOASO) Prof. Brian Oldfield
President Europe (EASO) Prof. Jason Halford
Vice President North America (TOS) Prof. Cathy Kotz
Chair: International Scientific Committee Prof. Karine Clement 
Chair: Obesity Clinical Care Prof. Joe Proietto 
Co-Chair: Policy & Prevention Dr Thelma Alafia Samuels 
Chair: Publications Committee Prof. Donna H Ryan
At-Large Member Adam McCormack